Riot Girls

June 6, 2009 § 3 Comments

Last night I picked up a copy of The PIX and devoured the interview of icon Joan Jett by fierce rock lady Brody Dalle. 

An amazing coop and one that I think only Princess Julia and Hanna Hanra could pull off.

Secretly I would have loved to be a Rock or Riot Girl: I’ve shaved my hair, under cut it, grown it long, coloured it pink/blue/red but I always went the boy-grunge way of big DM boots or Converse, tight black jeans and band T shirts rather than become a Kinder Whore in baby dolls and smeared make-up.

Many many years ago I went to a Hole gig at Brixton Academy and, although being a huge fan, I stood quietly at the back until my then boyfriend filled me with pints and pushed me forward. Once at the front having been almost blinded by the moshing giant pink fairy wings around me I found myself right at Ms Love’s feet. Seconds later she was pulling me by the arm on stage. Panicked I removed my arm, quickly placed my neighbours in her hand and moved down but this is not a lady who gives up and my wrist was grabbed again. A bouncer ran over ‘GET UP ON STAGE SHE WANTS YOU UP THERE’ but I carried on refusing as Courtney carried on simultaneously singing and yanking at my arm like a woman trying to rescue a person trapped in a well.

Moments later I ran back to Adam standing at the edge of the venue. He pointed out all the girls politely sitting in front of the drum kit (Brixton wasn’t hot on them dancing up there) and laughed. One girl had been given a white guitar ‘that could have been yours… did she give you anything?’

‘Yep. A chinese burn…..’

And looking at the purple finger prints now imprinted on my arm we decided that this was much more ROCK.

*******

Get yourself a copy of The PIX  or read it on line here:

The PIX

Joan PIX Cover

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Riot Girls

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Riot Girls at Cozette's Blog.

meta

